persian2english Young Girl Sentenced to Death for Self-Defense Killing

Herana News Agency, Women’s Rights:  Police discovered text messages exchanged between Reyhaneh and the surgeon. Consequently Reyhaneh was arrested.  She accepted the allegation right from the beginning, but she claimed it as self-defense.

She stated, “I met Morteza and his friend Sheykhi a few days earlier. While I was talking on my phone and waiting in an ice cream shop, they learned that I am a designer. Just before I left the shop, they came forward and gave me their phone number, saying that they are in need of a designer for their office. Once I started walking away, Morteza and his friend approached me in a Toyota Camry. I didn’t doubt anything since Morteza was a middle-aged man, so I got into the car. He insisted that I should enter his phone number into my cell phone.”

She continued: “A few days later, Morteza’s friend called me and scheduled a time so that I can have a look at the office. I met Morteza on the street [that day] but we had a stop at the pharmacy where we bought some stuff.  We arrived at a grimy apartment that seemed to be abandoned for a long time. I left the door half open. He unfolded his Sajadeh to pray and asked me to close the door and take off my headscarf. I refused to do so but as soon as I walked away, he closed the door himself. He wanted to get close to me but I resisted. He put his hands around my waist, but I ran away. He was frustrated and told me that I can’t ignore his desire. As soon as he turned his head away, I pulled my knife out of my bag, stabbed him in his back, and he fell to the floor. All of a sudden the door opened and Sheykhi, Morteza’a friend entered the apartment. He asked me, ‘What have you done?’ and hurried to the kitchen. He grabbed a piece of paper from the kitchen and ran off.”

Reyhaneh explains that Morteza told her that young girls like her should not be walking around with no defense and that she should be carrying something for herself. So she had bought the knife a few days earlier from Tajrish Bazaar.

Police investigation shows that one of the two glasses of fruit juice that were found at the crime scene were drank by Morteza and the other belonged to Reyhaneh. The tests reveals that Reyhaneh’s glass contained sleeping drugs. This is when (dadsetane ostan) stated that there is enough evidences against Reyhaneh and that she is indicted for first-degree murder, not taking her claim of self-defense into account. An allegation for first-degree murder was issued for 19-year-old Reyhaneh.

Leave a Reply

